Role Magazine Closing

Posted: October 18, 2009 by Salvatore Otoro in Misc.

I am sad to report that Role Magazine will be closing after it’s November issue is published.  I have been a staff writer for them since the July issue and have grown fond of what was my first paid writing assignment in Second Life.  Though my time with them was short, I learned a lot, got to interview some terrific people, and got to write some great articles that helped the readers know more about role play from mechanics to places to play in.  I have made some good friends which I will never forget.  At least now I can say I did more than just role play in Second Life.  I got to write for a well known and well published magazine and I got to see my work in print; something that was sort of a dream of mine.

I’d like to thank Ofi for taking a chance on me and hiring me to be part of the staff, based on the recommendation of Stacia Villota, whom runs Virtual Neko and is my mentor and friend.  Without her encouragement, I would never have started this blog.  I would also like to thank Ofi, Leeza and Ro, whom I’ve yet to meet, for all the work they’ve done for the magazine.  It was an honor and a privilege to work with you all and be part of the staff.  I wish you all continued success in your future endeavors.

Comments
  1. felesseitan says:

    I’m sad to see the publication go and hope you find another outlet to share your talents. I’ve learned a lot from following your blog and articles.

  2. leezacatteneo says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Salvatore! I enjoyed reading and layouting each of your articles and I can say that I learned a lot about the “RPG World” in SL from you =)

  3. Bibi says:

    Soo sad indeed! What a classy magazine run by classy people!! I was just getting started with them as well.

  4. Ofelia Laval says:

    Sal,

    I could have said this to you in private but I’d rather say it publicly. You, single-handedly, have taught me so many things that I needed to learn and I am grateful to you for your friendship and for being my mentor in many ways. You’re a generous and thoughtful person and a talented writer.

    Love,
    Ofi

  5. neon says:

    why is this happening?! is the blog going away?

Leave a Reply

